Spotlight on Games > War Games > Errata
Lords of the Sierra Madre Errata
Thu Dec 3 16:18:22 PST 1998

All of this ultimately stems from designer/publisher Phil Eklund.

2.0 COMPONENTS (Add) The cards are numbered as follows: W1-9; O1-11; B1-9; R1-21; E1-7,9-24; M1-37,43; C1-61; RR1-28.

The rulebook has 28 pages. The counter mix treasury has 565 Au.

3.1 MAP - Douglas, AZ and Janos, Chihuahua do connect without mountains between them. The Montane district in the northeast corner of the map does connect with Otero county.

Card Illustrations (page 3) - Delete Helvetica mine from RR9. Commonwealth Mine card is C58 (not C63), takes 10 quarters (not 8) and is located in Cochise, Co. (not Tombstone).

3.3 RAILROADS (Addition) Rail lines connect where they cross, and where they both enter the same police block.

Q. A couple of the Mex. presidential 'decree' cards, for example those that nationalize RRs mention 'Mexican' railroads? Which RRs are Mexican, and which aren't?

A. Buried in rule 13.23 (in revised rules anyway) is the statement that railroads with most of their districts within a territory are considered rails of that territory. I wanted this rule in 3.3, but it is quite difficult to tell Decision games anything. And this rule is ambiguous in a couple of rails that are evenly postioned on the border, and your suggestion of having the RR symbol block tell where it is located is a good one.,

3.5 POLICE BLOCKS (Add) It costs no movement points to move into or out of a police block or coastal block to/from the surrounding district.

3.6 (Add) MAP ERRATA: Movement from Texas to Dona Ana County cannot occur except by crossing the bridge over the Rio Grande. The capitalization of RR18 as listed on its card should read [8], not [9], to agree with the map.

3.8 COASTAL BLOCKS (Add) Coastal blocks may be treated by land units exactly as police blocks, see 3.5.

5.2 (Add) The effects of E Cards are permanent unless noted.

(Add Section) 6.X ENTERPRISE COUNTERS See 8.72b.

6.1c Ships - Replace "up to 12 Au of" with "unlimited". Delete "(2 Au ... counter)". [These changes remove the contradictions with 6.81.]

6.3 Q. I believe the US troops must rebase to a named fort. And only cavalry can walk from state to state, right? Can units from the same card split up? (Assuming there was a second leader or you just wanted the cavalry to run to another state).

A. Yes, they must rebase either to Fort Huachuca or Fort Bliss, or to the districts containing these forts. Yes, cavalry are the only blue units free (in peacetime) to go from state to state, per 6.3. Yes, the cavalry can split up, subject to 13.55.

6.52 RIFLES (Change) Aeroplanes can carry one rifle, as baggage, per 6.55. (Change second to last sentence) Two depleted rifles in a stack may be combined...

Q. Is it legal for policia, federales, etc. to just (Accidentally, of course) drop their guns and leave an area, allowing bandits to (again accidentally) arm? [The policia in question had just had a wonderful time taxing, but without their hacendado. So I offered to sell them a gun for money directly to me, and used their money to buy another gun].

A. This was actually rather common, common enough to have a name (or euphemism) for the process. It was called "surplusing". U.S. troops would surplus "obsolete" rifles in crates along the border. All perfectly legal.

Q. If you get control of the Police Chief you control all police in, say, Sonora. The card shows a police unit with a rifle. Is that an additional unit you can use to roam around the state? If so, can it leave police blocks?

A: No. Per 6.5.2, rifles cannot move or attack independantly, except shipped as baggage. Police will not give up their arms, either. Remember, they are not your units, you only have limited influence over them. (thru bribery). The only exception to Police surrendering their arms is during war, when a commander of higher rank, and same color, can order the police to give their arms to the troops that need them (are out of ammunition).

6.6 Police

Q. if the units on the card are additional to the police+rifle in each police block and the police+police+rifle+rifle in the cities. ie I was wondering if this was an additional force under the control of the chief of police that he could use to reinforce remote police blocks terrorised by bandidos.

A: No, I was just illustrating the sample forces, maybe a bad idea.

6.63 Q. Does the owner of Federales/Rurales/Cav/etc. have the right to leave a district (in order to avoid fighting with criminals that are about to enter it?) without putting the card up for rebidding? [Again, the rules seem to say yes, but a 'spirit of the card' interpretation].

A. Yes, it is legal for law units to run away to avoid a fight, without having to have card go up for auction. If I were refereeing this game, I might have the card go up for auction anyway. Or if the 2/3 rds majority of players agree to a "spirit of the card" interpretation.

Q.We were playing with our 'strict' rules interpretation which was that Orange/Blue (non-police, non-white) units COULD just sit there and watch Pancho Villa burn someone's Hacienda to the ground. (Obviously, said units were NOT controlled by that Haciendado!).

However, this lead to an 'interesting' interaction -- If a higher leadership leader (of the same color) moves into a district he "takes control of all combat in that district" -- would this include LACK of combat? This was one (I think flawed) interpretation -- that if someone controls the Rurales and a Bandido unit -- they can move into a enterprise space and burn it to the ground basically at will -- unless another Leadership 2 Orange Leader (or Red/Blue/White unit) interferes. Obviously this interpretation is more or less meaningless if said Rurales go up for re-bid in the next phase (for not attacking bandidos!).

A.: True! Only police players are penalized for allowing crimes or not attacking criminals. Units of different colors cannot stack together. Rurales can enter the same district as bandidos, and ignore them and their nefarious deeds. But they cannot interefere with other Orange units attacking the bandidos. Also, the command rules are only in force in wartime, so that units with higher leadership cannot assume control of other like-colored units of lower leadership, unless it is wartime.

6.7 STRIKERS (Add) During a quarter, a Striker may burn down the enterprise it is striking per 11.8 only if it is provoked first by being attacked. If a railroad is on strike, the strikers (if provoked) may burn down any bridges along that rail per 11.86.

This rule is also referred to in rule 11.93.

Q. There is a striker card (R17?) that is not a mordida. It must be played instantly? The Mordida cards can be held.

A. All striker cards are R cards, yet per 6.7 (or 9.4) they are played like M cards. Perhaps I should have made them M cards. I went back and forth on this question. I ended up making them R cards, which gives you a red counter, but are played like M cards. This is what the rules state.

Q. Also, strikers burn if attacked....if not attacked they don't burn, right?


Q. I should have sent a small squad off to try to fight the strikers in Steve's hacienda (it is a C card, so it can strike, right)?


Q. ...(Do strikers burn if they are destroyed in combat?)


Q. Do strikers get the +1 bonus for not having moved on the first round of combat?

A. NO, READ 11.32 b.

6.8 Gunboats and the Steam Ferry Q. "...The owner can charge any fees for the use of his ship".

Presumably the ferry is treated as an RR normally, i.e. the owner cannot refuse paying passengers without a stockholders meeting. Does the ferry owner get 1 Au for connecting Plantations to cities? Presumably then the ferry owner can only charge what he likes for use of the ferry when carrying items etc?

A. You are right. See "revised" errata

6.81 (Add) Ships may only attack, and be attacked, by units within the coastal block (see 3.8) they occupy.

Q. Can the ferry, etc. be attacked when it is in a box that is on the coast?

A. Yes, but only by artillery that is within that block, per 6.81.

6.82 (Add) Ferry owners receive 1 Au (as rail fees, 8.33, 8.37) for each plantation, ranch, or mine used in a link to Guaymas. The ferry counter must be undamaged, but does not have to be in any particular coastal block for this link to exist.

Without this clarification, ferry owners might charge, for instance, up to 6 Au rail fees from a plantation earning 7 Au in a summer.>

Add "during tactical rounds. Note 10.31 still applies." after "... for the use of his ship". [Basically, the only difference from a RR is the negotiable price for use during tactical rounds.]

7.6 Late Arrivals - Add "plus one Au for the current year" after "years that have passed." [The example is wrong without this adjustment. Also, this gives something to late-comers in the first year of the game.]

7.72 HEIRS (Add) A card that is discarded by a dead player (or any card that is abandoned unwanted by everyxone) goes into the discard pile. If it is a common card inxstead of a quarterly card, it goes back into the common card deck, so as to be available on subsequent turns. IOUs are transferable to one's heirs, just like the family gold.

8.21 Investors Confidence: Q. What happens to investors confidence if the player is a Governor/ President? Since the hacendado must live at the mansion/palace they are not at a C card. 8.21 says "he does not get investors capital, nor can he bid in Card auctions, or move troops under his control". Presumably the Governor/president CAN move troops at the very least?


8.22 (Change 1st sentence) Hacendados who are kidnapped or who are off at war...

8.25 BANKS (change to) During the investors' capital segment, a bank owner receives not only the normal investors' capital (going to his HQ per 8.38), but also each of his banks receives an amount of gold equal to the total number of banks he owns times the turn's investors' capital. This is summarized in the following table, which shows each bank's profit in Au:

Inv. Cap. for this turn:none1 Au2 Au
One Bank Owned:012
Two Banks Owned:024
Three Banks Owned:036
Four Banks Owned:048
Five Banks Owned:0510

Note: Bank profits are determined by investors' capital, and are placed upon the map per 8.38 rather than given directly to the player.

Q. I am having trouble understanding the use of banks. In particular, can cash ever appear at banks? The rule book seems to suggest that the cash generated by multiplied investors' income appears at the map location. In any case, since the multiplier is a doubling for each bank, it isn't clear what would be placed at each bank.

A. Money is distributed as evenly as possible among the banks. Two banks would have two Au apiece, if the banks earn 4 Au between them, in a one gold piece quarter. If three banks, then they earn 8 Au, distributed 3, 3, and 2. This money can be robbed. It is available (per 8.38) for a player, if his hacendado hq funds are exhausted.

8.26 (Change last sentence) Replace "police counters are depleted" to "police counters remain depleted"

8.3 PROFITS (Add) Note: Cards are physically placed upon whatever profit the enterprise earns. This position may go up or down due to rail linkages, event cards, burnxing, cattle liquidation, or cattle reinvestment.

(Add) Dams always give a profit of two, and they have no map location, as they are immune to disasters, striking, taxing or burning.

8.32 (Addition) As shown, the mining profit (and its card position) is increased by two each quarter it is linked to either a smelter or a city per 8.37.

8.33 Railroad links: Q. If a railroad links a mine for a normal link (as per 8.33), and/or as a lumber RR (8.34) and/or to a smelter (8.35), does the RR get 1 Au for EACH link? i.e. potentially 3 Au per mine?

If a mine is linked to a smelter, the mine is obliged to use it, and the mine is rasied in profit level by 2, the same as linking to a city. Can a mine owner then choose to link to a city, rather than a smelter owned by another player, so as to retain the +2 profit for his mine, but deny the smelter profits to the other player? As far as I can see this would not cause a stockholders meeting, because profits have not been refused.

A. The rules state that a mine must use the smelter, if it is linked to a smelter, ignoring cities, per 8.35 errata.

House Rule for those that do not like unlimited rail fee subsidies. The treasury will subsidize a number of RRs in the route equal to current mine profit (including rail link bonus). Minimum subsidy is 2 Au or the actual number of RRs used, whichever is lower. Longer routes are possible, but the excess RRs must be paid for by the mine owner. [This curbs the most extreme cases of abuse, but still allows the historical practice of padding the subsidy - though only in proportion to the actual mine wealth being generated. Note, no mine (except the Dolores mine) is more than three RRs away from some smelter site.]

8.34 LUMBER RAILROADS (Change beginning with second sentence) The owner of these railroads receives 1 Au per quarter from the treasury for each mine that obtains lumber from it. Each quarter, mine owners must determine which lumber railroad they will obtain lumber from (unless no linked lumber railroads exist). Transport of lumber pays no rail fees. A lumber railroad may be used by more than one mine; each use receives 1 Au from the treasury.

Q. Do Lumber RR's get any rail fees from mines delivering stuff in addition to the 1/mine? [Bonus question--the lumber RR with no mines listed on it...what is the deal? Typo?]

A. Yes. Lumber rails are treated just as any other rail, except they get a bonus for delivering lumber. The lumber can be delivered to any mine, not just mines listed upon the card, see 8.34. The mines listed upon the card are only those mines which physically link to the railroad. Lumber rails can deliver to any mine, long its rail or any other series of rails to get to the mine in question. The lumber railroad with no mines , like rr17, is not a typo. It just happens to not have any mines along its length.

8.35 SMELTERS (Change to read) Mines must trace to a smelter to raise their profit, if one is available linked by rail. If more than one exists, the mine owner chooses. Each railroad in the route receives 1 Au from the treasury. Smelters earn a profit equal to the assay value of each mine that use their services. A smelter may service more than one mine, but may not earn more than six Au per quarter (8.3). However, if a smelter is already earning its maximum profit, it cannot accept any more linkages and any additional mines have to go elsewhere.

Q. "Once built, smelters return a quarterly profit, paid from the treasury equal to the assay value of each mine that they are linked to by railroad...A smelter may service more than one mine." and 11.83 "...This counter does not reflect the actual profit which is indicated by the position of the smelter card itself"

BUT, if the smelter can service several mines, and those mines have different assay values, where does the smelter card go on the calendar?

A. Smelter card goes to whatever the mine earns at that moment. If more than one mine is linked, the smelter earns the sum of what each mine earns. To a max of 6.

Also if a mine makes extra profits, by having a rail link/lumber connection, does this increase the smelter profits accordingly, or is the smelter profit based on the ORIGINAL assay value of the mine?

See above.

8.37 a/b Rail Links: Q. When a hacienda/plantation/mine has its profit raised due to an RR link, does this PHYSICALLY move the card up 2 on the profit track, or is it just a +2? (The latter would imply that they can reach higher profits than the track maximum 6 or 7 (I guess that the cards are physically moved).

A. Right

Q. The same is true of modifications caused by event cards to mine assay, etc. Sometimes (e.g. 8.35) the rules say "assay value" for a mine. Is this noted as different to the current profit level e.g. if linked by rail to a city/smelter the assay value could be 4, but the profit level would be 6. Where does the card go? And what is the profit of the smelter (if any) - 4 or 6?

A. Six. Assay value and profit are the same.

8.37c Change final sentence to read: Rail fees are paid by the mine owner if the mine is linked to a city, but are paid by the treasury if the mine is linked to a smelter.


Q. I realize that stores get money when things are bought from them, and troops get money for taxation, but when else does money appear on the board? Does a mine give the money straight to the hacendado, or does it appear on the board there? RR? etc.

A. (EKLUND) PER 8.3.8, "Profits from each C card enterprise are considered to be at that mapsheet location for that quarter; on subsequent quarters, the profits automatically transfer to the hacendado's counter location." We used to have to transfer the money via train or stage during tactical moves, making train robberies common, but this rule was edited out for simplification.

8.39 a Abandonment Q. Do cards that go up for rebidding (default or whatnot) go into the discard pile or the common card pile if nobody wants them (or does it depend on what type of card it was).

Common cards go back to being common cards upon abandonment. Other cards are allowed to be bid upon the next auction, and then go into discard pile if no one is interested.

8.39 b (Add) A hacienda/slave plantation starts at its inixtial profit if rebuilt. (Add) A change in profit due to an E card is permanent.

8.39d Discarded Mines - Add ", so as to be out of the game permanently." after "... is discarded".

8.41 PAYMENTS (Add) If a player chooses not to pay for an immature card, he can sell it to any player willing to take over the capitalization. If nobody takes the card and the enterprise is abandoned, the shareholders are disxgruntled and the player must abandon investor's capital for one year. Optionally, if capitalization of a W card is abandoned, it can be seized by a store owner, if any. If more than one, the player abandoning the card chooses.

8.42 BANK LOANS (Add) Repayments on loans go to the bank owner, not to the treasury. Players may pay off an IOU earlier than due. Loans are paid off during the capitalization segment.

Q. If a player owned bank loans money (say at 2:1), then the bank gets the money back, and it can presumably be picked up and transfer to a player. But where does the money the bank loaned come from? When a bank doubles investors capital, does that money appear on the board? (We were playing no).

A. Bank loaned money, per 8.42, comes from the treasury, and immediately goes back to the treasury to pay off an enterprise. Bank loans, per 8.42, must be for paying off immature enterprises. They cannot be given out for free cash, like to buy cards for instance. If a player needs cash, they have to negotiate for it, taking out a loan from any player (not just bank players) that have free cash that are willing to part with it (for promise of extra cash later, or any other terms). We give all investor's cap ital, including that doubled or quadrupled by bank ownership, directly to the player who can use it for that quarter's card auction.

Q. What about the interest on bank loans - I believe the loan is made from treasury cash (even for players' banks) and repaid to the treasury - does that include the interest?

A. Loans are paid from the treasury, but they are repaid totally to the bank owner. This was accidentally left out of the rules.

8.42a Loan Default Auctions - If a the bank owner wins the auction, he pays the treasury.

8.42b LIMITS ON LOANS (Change last sentence to read) No player may have more than 6 IOUs on his calendar at a time.

8.42c Ownership Limits - If the player seeking a loan for capitalization is the only owner of banks currently in the game, the treasury will loan money to the player on the same terms as 8.42.

Q. If a player defaults on a loan (or chooses not to capitalize) the rule is very unclear. It says the property goes up for auction but then says other property is lost/goes up for auction. Does defaulting on one property default on all? (I wish I could quote the exact rule and what it implies).

A. Rule 8.42c states that if a C card is abandoned immature, then it is auctioned off and the abandoner forfeits investors capital for a year. it goes on to say that if any other kind of card is abandoned immature, then it is discarded or may be sold to other players.

8.51 Q. Can players freely give loans, sell property, etc. at any time during the turn, or only during various phases (or not at all...but that would seem odd).

A. Rule 8.51 "LAISSEZ-FAIRE Players may freely buy, sell, loan, exchange, or donate their cards or money to other players. Any loans other than per 8.42 must be for the duration of the quarter, and the player the card was loaned to has absolute control of that card, including its return."

8.53 (Change first sentence) Any gold spent on W cards (either bidding or maturing) goes to the owner of any store of the buyer's choice, or to the treasury...

8.6 COMMON CARD AUCTION (Add) Any or all of the Common Cards (with green backs) can be auctioned during the Common Card auction, except for unused haxc endado cards which are not available.

Q. During the common card auction, the players can basically bid on the cards in whatever order it's yelled out, or do the players go around the table, bringing a card up for auction (i.e., is there a formal method for this).

A. I don't have a formal method. I ask if anyone wants a common card, and the first one to bid upon a card initiates the first auction. It seems to go ok, as long as no more than one card is up for bid at any time.

8.62 PURCHASING RIFLES (Add) Players are allowed to use any store location as a starting point for their W cards if no stores have been built. If the store in Nogales, Sonora (the Chinese store) or the store in Guaymas, Sonora (the German store) is used, weapons starting there are legal until moved outside the police block. NOTE: Historically, Chinese were a major (yet heavily persexcuted) factor in small free enterprise operations in Sonora.

CHINESE STORE: There is a store location noted in Nogales, Sonora. But there is no card for this store, because when Decision Games decided to remove the expansion set enterprises from the map, they forgot to remove the Chinese store.

9.2 RED FLAG REBELLION (Add) A Red-Flag rebelxlion can be initiated or ended by the governor of the Mexican territory involved during the mordida or rebasing segment. Halleys Comet (Card E2) also ends the Red Flag. It is also ended if for any reason the Governor cannot return to his mansion during the rebasing segment, which initiates a new gubernatorial election during the next Common card auction. Ending it restores the red counters to orange during the mordida or rebasing segment. Eliminated Red-Flaggers go to the common deck (per 11.35) as red units until the rebellion ends. The Governor is considered a criminal any quarter that he presided over a Red-Flag territory.

Q. Can a Mexican official who comes into office after a red-flag rebellion has been declared end it? (After == 1+ quaters after the Mordida card causing the red flag rebellion ends?)

A. The governor of a territory can begin or end the red flag in his territory.

9.22 Post-Red Flag Governor - Governor-controlled eliminated Orange cards can be rebuilt per 11.35.

9.4 STRIKES (Replace last two sentences with) An immature C or RR card may also be put on strike; during each maturation segment that it is on strike move its card ahead on the calendar by one quarter.

RR16 and RR17 cannot strike. [There is no connected police block.]

Q. Do strikers push back immature projects in winter. When exactly do strikers do this? (It looks like it might be part of mordida phase stuff, but maybe tactical).

A. Yes, the strikers push back in winter (9.4). This happens during the maturation phase. This is when the project is supposed to be maturing one more quarter, but doesn't due to the strike.

Q. What exactly do strikes do to mature railroads if they are attacked? Or immature railroads for that matter?

A. Mature RRS on strike are shut down. Can't be used, can't improve profits of ranches or mines, or smelters, or lumber. Strikers cannot burn RRs, but can burn bridges if any, if they are attacked. Otherwise, they cannot hurt the RR. Immature RRs on strike have their cards moved to the right one block each maturation phase.

10.0 TACTICAL ROUNDS (Replace last two sentences with) Tactical rounds continue until all players have passed two consecutive times.

Q. Can you fight other troops if you just moved into that district on the same turn?

A. Yes. Per 10.0, the tactical sequence is first player movement, then first player combat, second player movement, etc.

10.2 Movement Q. does it cost one move to go to/from a police block?

A. No. It costs nothing.

Q. Can the federales join up with the rurales? (I think so).

A. Correct

10.22 (Change last sentence) Counters of different colors may not stack together, either in or out of police blocks.

10.6 CASH TRANSPORT (Add) Any tax money colxlected is accumulated at the fort or HQ of the tax-collectxing troops (11.7). Bandits can store their cash in any montane district if it becomes too great to carry around. This booty is vulnerable to seizure unless "buried". (Red counters can bury cash in montane as an exception to 11.53. This frees them to go rob some more on subsexquent quarters). Buried treasure is not available for bidding in auctions per 11.75.

Q. Can the ferry drop stuff off into the desert (for example, guns by themselves so that they can "cool off" after coming across the border from the Yuma store).

A. YES, SEE 10.6.

10.7 CRIMES (Add) Red counters can steal a player's stash of funds, most of which (see 8.38) is stored at the C Card location that the hacendado counter is using as a HQ. Being the Governor of a current Red Flag territory is a crime. Foiled night raids are not considered crimes.

10.73 The Hot Chase Q. "...Blue or Orange counters may only spend one round per quarter out of their starting territory". Does this mean territory, or nation? e.g. are Mexican troops from Sonora only allowed one tactical round in Chihuahua? (rereading 6.3 seems to imply they ARE only allowed one tactical round, except for US Cavalry)

A. Means territory. Mexican troops from Sonora are allowed but one tactical round in Chihuahua.

10.8 Taxation - It does not matter if there is no Au on-site at the actual moment of taxation. Taxation can still take place as long as the other conditions are satisfied.

Q. When taxing, you must start in the district you are taxing... (I believe the rules say, you move within a district to tax). So that basically means that the mountain area inside of Chihuahua but accessible only from Sonora can't be easily taxed, because of the 1 turn rule (Only 1 turn outside of districts).

A. Yes. For instance, the Dolores mines may only be taxed by ChihuahuA forces, which cannot get there to tax unless they go to Sahuaripa using RR25 first. This is historical, by the way. But the rule is, Sonora forces cannot tax in Chihuahua.

Q. Can troops in a district (not block) interdict police taxing in the city? (I would say no).

A. NO.

Q. Do banks ever make a "profit" - it seems that they might never have cash at their site and never make a profit (they sit at profit 0, after all), so can they be taxed?

A. Banks can be taxed any turn they are used to double investment capital.

Q. Is this why there is no enterprise counter specifically marked for banks?

A. Decision Games used to have an enterprise counter for banks, but theY removed it, for reasons they never revealed to me.

10.85 Q. The hacendado gets 1/2 tax money if he is with the troops. Round up or down?

A. Round down. The original rule, by the way, was 10%. The Decision Games rules editor changed it to 50%.

11.0 Combat

Q. How do leaders interact with opposing sides all composed of Red Units. In our case, a 'mighty revolutionary army' - lead by Pancho Villa (with 2 other red units, merc. machine guns, and rifles all around!) was thretened with subversion (or some card that automatically takes away a red/white/orange card). To which the (current) owner of Villa noted that his 'stack' (still owned by him) would immediatly execute the Villistas. However, Villa is a ldr 2 leader -- does that mean other 'enemy' red units won't attack him? Given that the rules specify that red can attack red, we ruled that Villa was a viable target for more poorly-led red units.

A.: Absolutely! Red can attack other red, for any reason, or no reason. This situation was very common in revolutionary Mexico, along with the resulting mass executions. And leadership has no meaning among bandidos, although it could have some relevance for some red units like red-flag units.

11.2 Leadership - A leader can only command forces controlled by the same player, unless forces have been "lent" per 11.42.

11.32 b Defender Combat Bonus Q. Units get a +1 bonus in combat if they haven't moved or attacked. Does a night raid count as an attack? even an unsuccessful one? Is taxing an attack?

A: The rules, unfortunately, are ambiguous here. (My fault). The intent was for an attack to be offensive combat, which taxing, burning, and raiding are not.

11.34 LOSSES (Add) Troop counters cannot be elimixnated until all rifles or machine guns are eliminated first.

11.35 ELIMINATION (Add) Discarded Common Cards are returned to the Common Card deck. If bought, the purchaser must rebuild (per 12.24) each counter (listed on the card) that he wants placed upon the map (at its starting point listed on its card).

Rebuilding Eliminated Counters - If president/governor controlled orange/blue common card is discarded due to elimination, only the appropriate president/governor can get the card back. The purchase is free, but eliminated counters must be rebuilt.

11.41 LIMITS (Add) Counters not in a police block cannot attack police or strikers within the block, nor interfere with taxxing within the block.

11.43 SURRENDER (Change to read) If the defending force has no rifle or gunboat counters present and has taken at least one loss in the immediately preceding combat, and the attacking counters are Blue or Orange, then the entire defending force surrenders (see Notes for exceptions).

a. Attackers never surrender (though if they have lost their rifles, etc., they are prime targets).

b. Defending counters never surrender to Red forces, since Red is always assumed to have declared Ley de Fuga. Also, counters don't surrender to Orange or Blue forces that have previously exercised Ley de Fuga (see 11.46 for additional details).

c. Rifles never surrender but may be seized if no troops are present in the same location per 11.46.

d. Surrendering artillery, truck, aeroplane, and machine gun counters (and their cards) become the property of the victorious counter (not the player controlling the victorious counters). Surrendering troops are moved to the penitentiary (11.44) during the rebasing segment.

e. Gunboats and the troop counters on them, and Police never surrender.

f. Artillery, trucks, and aeroplanes can be seized (in a Night Raid, 11.5) if no troops are present in the same location. Also, they surrender with any troops they accompany (The owner may wish to use them to satisfy losses rather than surrender them. Note that trucks contribute no firepower but may be used to satisfy losses).

11.44 (Add as first sentence) Surrendered troops are placed in a penitentiary (or per 11.45) of the victorious player's choice during tactical moves or rebasement (12.0).

11.48 (Add at end of first sentence) ...("Law of Flight", in other words, "shot while attempting to escape").

11.51a NIGHT RAIDS (Add) This is limited by how much cash is stored at the site. 11.51b: Change "11.6 to "11.55".

Q. Also, if they never have cash at their sites, how can banks be robbed? Or is money stolen by robbers not taken from cash at the site itself?

A. Can be robbed only if money is stored there, or was earned there that quarter, and not yet all spent. Can be taxed, however, even if no money is there as long as it made a profit and the player is not broke. Maybe red units should be able to tax, just like orange counters. But this is not in the rules.

Q. Rule 11.51a says that robbers can take as much cash as they can carry, but doesn't make clear whether that cash is limited to what's actually on the map.


Q. Am I right that the once an enterprise is running, while it has not been robbed or otherwise depleted of cash, it will have one quarter's worth of profits on-site all the time?

A. Yes. We play it this way, but the logistics are complicated. for instance, if the player makes a lot of money at an enterprise, but spends it and all his money immediately. By the time tactical moves come, there is no money left at the site to rob.

We used to keep track of cash earned at a site, even had stagecoaches transport it to the hacendado's HQ, subject to stage robbery. Now, all cash is assumed to go straight to the HQ immediately. We also used to have it that if the player is a bank owner or casino owner, all his cash goes to one of the banks or casinos. (Historically, revolutionaries that needed cash always headed for the nearest bank or casino). If you wish to experiment with house rules, let me know how it turns out. I found it an unacceptable slowing of the game flow.

Q. Also related to robbery - is it similarly the case that only rifles actually on the map can be stolen? Including from a store?

A. I have never thought about this. It seems that it should be possible for bandits to steal one counter (per quarter) of rifles from any established store. The store is shut down until the owner pays a gold piece (the wholesale price of a counter of rifles) to replace the lost counter. In other words, there is one counter of rifles assumed to be at every store location. This counter is also available to be legally seized by government troops without rifles, this would have the same effect of being stolen.

Q. Finally, is the player's cash assumed to be at the site currently occupied as HQ by their haciendo?

A. All the player's cash is always assumed to be at the C card site occupied by their counter, designated as the hacendado HQ. Except for cash earned at other sites that quarter, which are still at that site.

Q. If so, can robbers take cash from a player's hand if they rob at that site?

A. Yes, they can.

Q. It's pretty typical for sites in "dangerous" locations to spend their money first for capitalization, etc.

A. Yes, this would be pretty typical if you played where each player specifies where his cash comes from. but we play the game whereby we do not have players specify where their money comes from. Note that if a player does not specify where the cash is coming from, then it is assumed that the money comes from his HQ first, then when that is exhausted, it comes from his outlying enterprises. Per 8.38.

11.53 Buried Goods Q. Presumably the hacendado has to be in the same District to unearth his cache? (seems obviously yes!)

A. Yes

Q. The rules say that a hacendado who has been unsuccessfully night-raided can bury rifles and gold to protect them against future raids. I would have thought this would also apply to successful night raids too. Given the amount of gold you hold at your hanciendo it is likely that the raiders couldn't carry it all off. It would make sense to bury it before they come back. I guess the alternative is to run off with it to the nearest police block.

A: Yes, you are correct. The rule should be either successful or unsuccesful night-raiding. Sorry about that!

11.55 (Add to end of first sentence) red troops.

11.6 Arrests & Arms Seizures. Q. "If the target is not a revolutionary leader or has not committed a crime, a warrant or direction is required from the governor. Is there any way to get these if the Governor is not a player?

A. Yes. There is a warrant M card that can be used even if gov is not a player.

11.61 (Add to end of second to last sentence) ...during the rebasing segment (12.0).

11.62 (Add) The M card is discarded if the leader is killed.

11.65 ARMS SEIZURES (Add this paragraph) One counter of rifles is assumed to exist at each established store. This may be robbed per 11.5, or seized by governxment troops who have no rifles. In eixther case, one gold piece must be paid for a new wholesale rifle counter to re-establish the store, otherwise it is shut down. This gold is owed by the player controlling the Government troops in the case of arms seizures.

11.7 Burning - Note C15 and C28 are inherently red and can be legally burned as mentioned on the cards, though NM mounties are still limited by treaty (10.73).

11.74 Blocking Taxation Q. "Any combat counter in a District or Police block may block taxation there". Even if of the same colour? (e.g. Player 1 moves his federales ont a hacienda and demands 1 Au, can Player 2, whose federales are in the same district, say no"? (I read this to mean that the same colour can stop taxing)

A. Yes. Same color can block. Even if it's not his turn.

11.75 (Add) A hacendado gets half the tax money colxlected, rounding down. This means that the hacendado does not get the gold if only one Au is collected, which is the normal (peacetime) limit of tax collectors.

11.78 Rebuilding Burned Enterprises Q. If a hacienda is destroyed and rebuilt, does it start at 0 profit or it's initial profit (1 or 3/sum).

A. A hacienda starts at its initial profit if rebuilt.

11.8 Leadership Raised in Battle Q. Is there anyway to get from leadership 0 to 1 through combat?

A. NO.

Q. A military officer gets glory for capturing a red unit (thereby increasing his leadership) but not for killing him. When attacking with the federales do I have to use all four attacks (federales + rifles + 2 for artillery) or can I keep rolling one by one until the bandido surrenders and stop before he dies. Or is the idea that if I had to use that much force then my leadership is obviously not worth raising.

A: You can use limited force, (i.e., not use all the artillery, etc.) but must make all the designated die rolls in the attack, and if he dies, too bad.

11.82 (Add) Casinos burned to profit zero may be recapixtalized by the owner to bring it back to profit one.

Q. 11.82 "Casinos, Stores, Mines, Haciendas & Plantations. These are reduced one in profit for every round burned. Once destroyed, a mine may not be rebuilt per 11.88" & 11.88 "All destroyed enterprises (those burned beyond profit level zero) except mines must be rebuilt..."

What about enterprises that were burned but not destroyed? Haciendas and Plantations can be increased in profit by reinvestment (8.31), but what about Mines, Stores and Casinos? Are they just stuck at their new (lower) profit value?

A. Only casinos can be so affected. Stores start at profit zero, thus are destroyed if burnt. See errata for casinos.

Q. Is there any way to defend against burning? Having troops in the area doesn't stop the burning, as it happens on the other players turn, but the units doing the burning may be destroyed on following turns.

A. Cannot defend against burning unless the red troops can be hit first, or hit before they arrive at their target.

11.83 Smelters (Change, in first sentence) "seven" should be "six". (Add) Any turn that the total profit of a partially-burned smelter is immediately reinvested, its maximum profit is raised by one step. Alternatively, the smelter may be recapitalized to regain its full capacity.

11.86 (Add) Money spent rebuilding bridges also goes to a store owner, if any, (as long as a store owner does not end up paying himself.) (Change last sentence) Replace "Common Card auction" with "rebasing/refurbishment".

11.93 (Add) Troops that go up for rebidding, whether bexcause they have been eliminated, double-crossed, or bexcause of the suxperstition of Halley's comet, have their counters removed from the map if no one buys them. Their cards are disxcarded (if quarxterly) or returned to the common card deck (if common).

12.1 REBASING (Change first sentence) After all players agree that Tactical Rounds are over, Orange and Blue counters (including white counters that have been declared Orange or Blue) are placed in a district of their choice within their home territory that contains a fort or HQ. (Add) Multiple military forces of a territory may rebase to the same fort or HQ.

Q. May both federales in a district rebase to the same fort?

A. Yes, 12.1 and 10.22 allow this.

Q. "After all tactical rounds are over, Orange and Blue counters are placed in a district of their choice containing a fort or HQ". Anywhere in their own territory, or the district that they start from?

A. Anywhere in their territory.

Q. Can I spend money directly from a mine site? This is useful if you have a mine which is not near a railroad. If I didn't want to spend the money how would I ship it back from the mine? Do I just wait until the rebasing segment and the money comes back for free? I understand from the rules that even if I spend it the mine is taxable but spending it will protect it from being night-raided.

A: You can't spend money from an isolated site, until after rebasing when it enters your general funds.

12.24 (Add) See 11.35 if all counters on a card are eliminated.

Q. When the earthquake hits (with surprising frequency in our games so far....), you pay 2au to rebuild police/rifles. The normal cost is one. So the money is for "rebuilding the city" and the police/rifles are just to show what is going on. Therefore the money doesn't go to the hospital concession. Is that train of thought correct?

A. No, i had in mind that the police need 2 Au, given to hospital, to get a new undepleted police counter (1 Au would give them a depleted police counter, see 12.24). The rifles also need two Au to buy an undepleted counter, this goes to the store. This is the origin of the 4 Au per city. And 8 Au per major city.

Q. "Eliminated Combat counters from a card a player holds can be restored to full strength by paying 2 Au to the store or hospital." The Example below 12.28 seems to imply that you can bring back eliminated counters as depleted counters. Is this possible? (12.3 seems to imply not, as the card will then go up for rebidding)

A. If all counters of a B/O/R card are eliminated, the card is discarded. if only some counters are hurt or eliminated, they can be restored with gold. If a player cannot or will not do that during refurb, another player can demand to put that card up for auction.

12.28 The example should be moved to 12.23.

12.3 Failure to Refurbish - Hacendado presidents/governors are exempt. They always retain command of their office-controlled troops. During war, hacendados cannot bid on troops contrary to 13.51.

13.1 Gubernatorial Races - Add "or B" after "bid for the M".

13.12 Election ties

Q. What happens if the incumbent is not one of the tied parties?

This is foolishly not covered in the rules. I should have said something like, the person with the most cards wins ties. However, I recommend that the traditional method of rolling a die to break ties be used.

13.13 (Add) Also, the Gubernatorial card goes up for re-election during the common card auction if the current Governor is not able to return to his mansion during the previous turn's rebasing segment (being arrested, kidnapped, deposed by the end of a red flag rebellion, or killed.)

13.17 (Add) Almost every card has a name on it that can be used as "puppets" for elections, military leaders, etc. (Add) A military leader, or any regional puppet, can run for office outside his territory. For instance, a leader of Chihuahuan federales can run for office in Sonora. If a military leader is elected to office, the controlling player can be apxpointed to fill the vacant position, at his current leadership. If no such player is appointed, a nameless replacement general of the original leadership is assumed to be appointed.

Puppets do not have to be from mature cards.

13.19 (Add) The gubernatorial mansion counts as a C card enterprise for purposes of 8.21.

Investor Income - Governors at their capitals qualify for purposes of 8.21.

(Add) The gubernatorial elections of Texas (Card B5) and New Mexico (Card B6) come with a counter of Rangers; if the governor remains non-player-controlled these blue counters may be auctioned off separately.

13.21 Mexican Governors (Add) Taxation is limited by the capacity of the stack per 10.6. The governor does not have to be present to get his 50% tax share. His share is stored at his mansion (whether the governor is a player or a puppet). Any quarxterly orange cards turning up in subsequent turns are awarded free to the player controlling the governor.

Q. "...collects any orange cards, including policia, within his territory from discards, other players or the Common Card Stack, with the exception of the rurales". What about those cards that become available for bidding in the future by being turned over as a quarterly card? Do the go up for bidding as normal, or are they automatically controlled by the Governor?

A. Automatically controlled

Q. Presumably the new Governor gets these cards for free, and can use the forces to tax enterprises etc.

A. For free.

Q. If a hacendado is elected Governor, then all taxes are split 50-50. Presumably he does not have to be present for this to happen (unlike 11.75).

A. Yes.

Q. If the Governor is not a player then 50% go to the counter doing the taxing (and stays on the counter), and 50% go to the non-player Governor. What happens to the Governors share? Does it go to his counter too, or to the treasury?

A. To his counter.

13.22 American Governors - If a player does not win governor elections from cards B5 or B6, the card is again auctioned for purposes of control of the troops depicted on the card. A US Governor may confiscate the US Border Police card (B4) only if the owner fails to refurbish or abuses power per 6.63 or 8.61a.

13.23 Railroad Subsidies - Replace last sentence with "Railroads are considered to be in the territory that contains their ownership box printed on the map."

13.3 Presidential Elections Q. When running for President of Mexico, must you control one town, etc when you purchase the card, or when it matures, or both?

A. You become presidente if you have both a mature pres card, and have control of two cities, one in each territory. You become pres instantlY upon those conditions.

Q. Can you hold the mexican presidency mordida card (after it matures) until you want to play it, or does it take effect when it matures (later, I assume)?

A. You hold the mex pres card, but do not play it. It becomes effective when you control two cities.

Q. For the Mexican Presidency, define "Control of a town" for the control of a town in each district.

A. Holding the Policia card. Or having destroyed the Policia, and occupying the town.

13.4 PRESIDENTIAL POWERS (Add) Presidents must distribute all B/O cards to players who are governors, except that cavalry (US) or ruxrales (Mexico) cards are retained by the President. Hiring or firing of governors or generals must occur during rexbasement. Players hired as governors or generals use their current leadership.

Q. "...collects all his countrys troop cards including discards and any future B and O cards turned up" (seems to imply that Governors don't get cards turned up in the future, see above question).

A. Both governors and presidents get future cards.

Q. How does this mesh with the Governors doing the same thing? Does the President keep control of all the B/O cards, and the Governors get none? Or must the President distribute the cards to Governors?

A. See errata

Q. If the Governors lose their control over the troops, presumably they still retain their other powers (RR subsidies, Lawsuits & Warrants, Pardons).

A. Yes

Q. "...he may hire or fire Governors and Generals" When? At whim?

A. During refurbishment. At whim.

13.41 (Add) Presidents cannot personally lead troops; in times of war or peace they must remain at their residence.

Investor Income - Presidents at their residences qualify for purposes of 8.21.

13.45 Assassination - Special assassination M cards may be used against hacendados or puppets, but have no effect on a puppet without an office or troops.

13.5 War (Add) Investor's capital continues normally during war (but see 8.26).

13.58 (Remove the second sentence , the one starting "If this occurs...")

14.3 (Add) IOUs deduct from a player's ending victory total.

18.0 INDEX Casinos (change) 11.82 to 11.89
Defaulting (change) 8.42c to 8.41a
Gunboats (change) 11.43c to 11.43e
Kidnapping (add) 8.22 and 11.47
Machine Guns (add) 11.43d
Penitentiary (change) 11.43 to 11.43d
Surrender (change) 11.35 to 11.9
Trucks (add) 11.43d, 11.43f
(Add) Arms Seizures 11.6, 11.65
(Add) Rivers 3.6
(Add) Sequence of Play 1.3

Selected Bibliography, page 23 (Add) Traven, B. Der Schutz der Sierra Madre (The Treasure of the Sierra Madre), Alfred A. Knopf, Inc., 1935.

Card Deck Article (page 26) - Under "#2 Any Bank Available", replace "is easily repaired" with "can only be robbed".

NOTE: Optional rule (7.5) : I prefer having the players start with no gold. Otherwise, there is an artificial 1898 "feeding frenzy" wherein all the desirable common cards are bought.

See also ...